



## Yorkshire and Humber Councils and Yorkshire Universities agree new Memorandum of Understanding

## Tuesday 20 July 2021

Yorkshire and Humber Councils and Yorkshire Universities have agreed a new Memorandum of Understanding (MoU), providing a framework for a long-term, strategic partnership between local government and higher education in Yorkshire and the Humber. The MoU sets out how Yorkshire and Humber Councils and Yorkshire Universities will work together to identify and develop new opportunities for stronger collaboration between the sectors.

Commenting on the MoU, Kersten England, Chief Executive of Bradford Council and Chair of the Yorkshire and Humber Councils Chief Executives' Group, said:

"Local authorities and Universities will be at the heart of recovery as we tackle the big issues facing Yorkshire – building a globally competitive and connected economy that works for everyone; responding and adapting to climate change; addressing inequality and securing the investment in infrastructure, research and in our communities that we need to succeed. The MoU builds on our existing strong relationships and acts as a platform for sharing innovation, learning and intelligence"

Professor Shirley Congdon, Vice-Chancellor of the University of Bradford and the Chair of Yorkshire Universities, said:

"As civic anchor institutions, universities and local authorities work closely in different towns and cities in Yorkshire. This MoU provides a basis for extending and adding value to these existing local relationships, so we can harness and bring together our respective capacities and capabilities to support recovery and build more sustainable and equitable growth and development in the region."

## **Notes**

Yorkshire and Humber Councils is a partnership of the 22 regional local authorities and 2 combined authorities, that come together to identify and tackle the strategic issues facing councils and places across the Yorkshire and Humber area, focusing on capability and capacity issues, sharing good practice and using their collective voice to lever influence. Yorkshire Universities (YU) is a regional partnership with a shared commitment to strengthen the contribution of universities and higher education institutions to the economic, social and civic well-being of people and places in Yorkshire. The twelve members of YU are: Leeds Arts University; Leeds Conservatoire; Leeds Beckett University; Leeds Trinity University; Sheffield Hallam University; University of Bradford; University of Huddersfield; University of Hull; University of Leeds; University of Sheffield; University of York; and York St John University. A copy of the MoU is available at:

www.yorkshireuniversities.ac.uk www.yhcouncils.org.uk @YorkshireUnis wyhcouncils

## Contact

Dr Peter O'Brien, Executive Director, Yorkshire Universities p.obrien@yorkshireuniversities.ac.uk 07912 268087

Clair Parker, Senior Partnerships Officer, Yorkshire and Humber Councils <a href="mailto:yhcouncils@wakefield.gov.uk">yhcouncils@wakefield.gov.uk</a> 01924 304447