X Close Icon

North Yorkshire Members

North Yorkshire covers an area of 8,654 square kilometres. Around 40% of the county is covered by national parks, including most of the Yorkshire Dales and the North York Moors. Major cities and towns include York, Harrogate and Selby. Scroll down for information and links to North Yorkshire and York Councils.
Map of North Yorkshire

City of York Council

York is among the best places to live in the UK, renowned for community spirit and driving innovation inside and outside our historic city walls. A compact, liveable and welcoming city, with millions of visitors a year, York is a distinct, forward-looking and beautiful northern city.

Chief Executive and Leader: Ian Floyd and Cllr Claire Douglas

Population: 210,000

Major conurbations: York, Haxby, Strensall

North Yorkshire Council

North Yorkshire is an attractive place to live, work and visit – globally renowned for its culture, spectacular landscapes, high standards of education provision and a varied and vibrant local economy.

Chief Executive and Leader: Richard Flinton and Cllr Carl Les

Population: 618,054

Major conurbations: Harrogate, Scarborough, Northallerton, Ripon, Skipton, Selby, Catterick Garrison, Whitby, Thirsk, Richmond, Filey, Malton, Pickering

© 2024 Yorkshire Leaders Board | Web design by Splitpixel | Sitemap | Privacy & Cookies