X Close Icon

The Humber Members

The Humber area borders the River Humber estuary and the North Sea, and contains three major ports in Hull, Grimsby and Immingham. The area comprises parts of the historic counties of Yorkshire and Lincolnshire to the north and south of the Humber. Kingston upon Hull is the region’s largest city and commercial centre. Scroll down for information and links to the Humber’s constituent Councils.

East Riding of Yorkshire Council

Our vision is to create an East Riding where everyone matters by growing the economy, protecting the vulnerable, helping children and young people achieve, promoting healthy living and valuing the environment.

Chief Executive and Leader: Caroline Lacey and Cllr Anne Handley

Population: 341,173

Major conurbations: Beverley, Bridlington, Goole, Driffield, Hornsea, Withernsea, Market Weighton and Pocklington

Hull City Council

Constantly defying expectations and challenging perceptions, Hull is a proud, confident, outward-looking city, transformed by investment and partnership in culture, people and place.

Over recent years, Hull City Council and its public and private partnerships have delivered sustained improvements, building on the city’s economic, social and cultural successes to improve outcomes for residents and raise the profile of the city.

The council’s vision, working with partners, is to:

  • deliver economic growth for all;
  • create inclusive, resilient and safe communities; and
  • deliver organisational excellence.

Chief Executive and Leader: Matt Jukes and Cllr Mike Ross

Population: 259,778

Major conurbations: Hull a stand-alone city and the key urban economic driver for the Humber sub-region

North East Lincolnshire Council

North East Lincolnshire is on the south bank of the Humber estuary – the centre of the growing renewables industry in the UK. The borough comprises the main towns of Grimsby, Cleethorpes and Immingham, alongside the surrounding villages in the northern Lincolnshire Wolds.

Chief Executive and Leader: Rob Walsh and Cllr Philip Jackson

Population: 159,563

Major conurbations: Grimsby, Cleethorpes, Immingham

North Lincolnshire Council

Chief Executive and Leader: Simon Green (interim) and Cllr Rob Waltham

Population: 172,292

Major conurbations: Scunthorpe, Brigg, Haxey, Crowle, Epworth and Barton-upon-Humber

© 2024 Yorkshire Leaders Board | Web design by Splitpixel | Sitemap | Privacy & Cookies