X Close Icon

West Yorkshire Members

West Yorkshire has a population of 2.3 million and consists of five metropolitan boroughs (Bradford, Calderdale, Kirklees, Leeds and Wakefield) which combine strong industrial heritage with modern, vibrant cities and towns. Major railways and two major motorways traverse the county, which also contains Leeds Bradford International Airport. Scroll down for information and links to West Yorkshire’s constituent Councils.

Bradford Council

Bradford District has a huge amount to offer – youth, strong identity, diversity and unequalled vitality. An outward-looking district, we’re keen to work regionally and nationally to build relationships and realise our potential for growth and investment.

Chief Executive and Leader: Lorraine O’Donnell and Cllr Susan Hinchcliffe

Population: 530,000

Major conurbations: Bradford, Keighley, Shipley, Bingley, Haworth, Ilkley, Silsden, Queensbury, Saltaire

Calderdale Council

Calderdale is a beautiful area in West Yorkshire between Leeds and Manchester renowned for its distinctive natural landscapes, vibrant towns, thriving cultural and arts scene and diverse, kind and resilient communities.

Chief Executive and Leader: Robin Tuddenham and Cllr Jane Scullion

Population: 211,455

Major conurbations: Brighouse, Elland, Halifax, Hebden Bridge, Todmorden, Sowerby Bridge

Kirklees Council

Chief Executive and Leader: Steve Mawson and Cllr Cathy Scott (interim)

Population: 439,787

Major conurbations: Huddersfield, Batley, Birstall, Cleckheaton, Dewsbury, Heckmondwike, Holmfirth, Mirfield

Leeds City Council

Our ambition is for Leeds to be the best city in the UK: compassionate and caring with a strong economy; which tackles poverty and reduces inequalities; working towards being a net zero carbon city by 2030.

Chief Executive and Leader: Tom Riordan and Cllr James Lewis

Population: 793,139

Major conurbations: Leeds

Wakefield Council

Wakefield is a vibrant Yorkshire city, a place of significance and surprise, and a place of great connections in every sense. The city is made up of, and surrounded by, thriving communities, breath-taking landscape, leading businesses, great brands, history and heritage.

Chief Executive and Leader: Andrew Balchin and Cllr Denise Jeffery

Population: 336,000

Major conurbations: Wakefield, Pontefract, Castleford, Knottingley, Featherstone, Normanton, Ossett, Horbury, Hemsworth, South Kirkby, Moorthorpe and South Elmsall

West Yorkshire Combined Authority

The West Yorkshire Combined Authority brings together local councils, businesses and the Mayor of West Yorkshire to build a strong, successful economy where everyone can build great businesses, careers and lives.

Chief Executive and Leader: Ben Still and Mayor Tracy Brabin

Population: 2,332,469

Major conurbations: Bradford, Halifax, Huddersfield, Leeds, Wakefield

© 2024 Yorkshire Leaders Board | Web design by Splitpixel | Sitemap | Privacy & Cookies